The Food Department @ Dunedin

It was a sunny afternoon, we decided to go to The Food Department for lunch after I handed in my thesis woohoo! The café is located a minute away from the university campus, which is very convenient for students and staff to grab a quick coffee or lunch.

img_20160923_132337

It is a charming café with limited seating, but lucky us, we got a table only after a few minutes wait. It was such a beautiful day to sit outside and enjoy the sun. Watching people walk by in the hustle and bustle of daily life, how often do we stop to appreciate?

img_20160923_133606

We ordered an iced mocha to cool us down from the heat, and it did the job nicely.

img_20160923_134000

My boyfriend ordered this steak sandwich. The steak was cooked to a perfect medium rare, and was accompanied by fresh sliced tomatoes, grilled onions, cheese, and mayonnaise on top of a slice of toasted ciabatta. He said it was one of the better steak sandwiches he had tried, and after trying a bite, I must agree, it was delicious.

img_20160923_134013

I ordered this green curry with chicken out of curiosity, I didn’t know what to expect having a Thai curry in a cafe. To my surprise, this was actually really good. It stood out to me because I previously worked at a Thai restaurant.

I found that I much preferred this rich coconut cream style of curry compared to the aggressive and heavily spiced curry. The creamy base did a great job of balancing the flavours of all the herbs and spices. The only flaw with the dish was that the rice was a little mushy.

All in all, we had a great lunch there. Better yet, the meals were very reasonably priced. I will add this place to the ‘visit again’ list.

Address: 20 Malcolm St, North Dunedin, NZ

Leave a Reply

